Necessity hath no law. Feigned necessities, imaginary necessities . . . are the greatest cozenage that men can put upon the Providence of God, and make pretences to break known rules by… Oliver Cromwell


“You have sat too long for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!” Oliver Cromwell

“You have sat too long for any good you have been doing. Depart, I say, and let us have done with you. In the name of God, go!” Oliver Cromwell

In a free republic : life in Cromwell’s England  Alison Plowden  Stroud : Sutton, 2006  Hardcover. 1st ed. xiii, 225 p., [8] p. of plates : ill., ports. ; 25 cm.  Includes bibliographical references (p. 211-216) and index.  Clean, tight and strong binding with clean dust jacket. No highlighting, underlining or marginalia in text. VG/VG   

“I desire you would use all your skill to paint my picture freely like me, and not flatter me at all; but remark all these roughnesses, pimples, warts and everything as you see me, otherwise I will never pay a farthing for it” Oliver Cromwell

“I desire you would use all your skill to paint my picture freely like me, and not flatter me at all; but remark all these roughnesses, pimples, warts and everything as you see me, otherwise I will never pay a farthing for it” Oliver Cromwell

Presents a study of life during the Interregnum: the unique period in England‘s history, when it was a commonwealth, from 1649-1660. Drawing on contemporary memoirs, diaries, letters, newspapers and state papers, this book aims to reveal what family life, religion, culture and literacy, trade, domestic life, health were under the Commonwealth.

“We will cut off his (the king's) head with the crown on it” Oliver Cromwell

“We will cut off his (the king’s) head with the crown on it” Oliver Cromwell

Comments Off on Necessity hath no law. Feigned necessities, imaginary necessities . . . are the greatest cozenage that men can put upon the Providence of God, and make pretences to break known rules by… Oliver Cromwell

Filed under Book Reviews

Comments are closed.